DON’T KNOCK BEAUTY

I went for a long walk this afternoon. Actually, a long sit.  Just  I and the three younger dogs. I often sat down, and looked and listened. The frogs and the birds were ecstatic.

Sitting at Freddie's Dam

At one stage I sat down on the edge of Freddie’s dam at a spot I’ve never sat down before, because a pair of yellow-billed ducks were on the water. They never saw me.  It was a beautiful sit. The only shot I got of them is not worth using. So this image is from a great birder and photographer who lives 150km away – visit his site at http://www.warwicktarboton.co.za/index.html

104-Yellow-billed-Duck-G03498

Just sitting, listening, observing was the best thing I could have done. For I realised that the loss of some flowers, the knocking down of some leaves, the soft carpet underfoot which should not have been there, really did not diminish the garden. Saturday’s devastating hail storm  (see my previous post) did not begin to touch its essence.

Unusual view across Freddie's Dam

The garden is beautiful. A few flowers, a few leaves more or less makes little difference. I saw it on Friday when it was perfect. It no longer looks as it looked then. Does that matter? No – on the contrary, that fleetingness is the very essence of a garden’s beauty. Delicate, fragile, fleeting, but serenely immune to the violence nature can inflict on it. I have made my peace with the storm.

In fact even in the violence there was always an element of beauty…

During the storm

Next morning in Trudi’s Rose Garden – bluegum and other leaves amongst the rose petals.

shattered leaves and petals

Leave a Reply

