A FINAL FAREWELL TO MY FATHER’S HOUSE

Farewell to Dad's garden

Last Friday I bade my father’s house farewell. During the week my brother and I had packed it all up, and I drove slowly up to Sequoia from Johannesburg with a heavily laden trailer. When I return to Johannesburg from the Cape next week, the last things will be awaiting the trip in my (once again) heavily laden MPV parked in  my cousin’s garage. The above photo shows part of the garden remodelling I did for my parents in 1997. The one below shows the aloe which produced such a beautiful flower spike at the end of last year to mark my dad’s final passage; it produced a further spike to mark this occasion – all rather unusual as most aloes flower in winter.

Dad's aloe

4 thoughts on “A FINAL FAREWELL TO MY FATHER’S HOUSE

  1. Poignant and sad, Jack. My father passed in May last year and it was my last trip to South Africa for a while – sad journey. May you be comforted. The gardens are beautiful and I love the blooming of the aloe…

Leave a Reply

