OF BUTTERFLIES,BRIGHTNESS AND A ROSE

butterflies after dark 1

Mid-summer is when the butterfly migration takes place. I posted on it some years back over here. When I went looking for my Monty dog one recent evening, I photographed them all asleep in the grasses, where they looked like flowers. (Monty not only visits anyone who is a guest in the valley, especially if there are children present – he also all but disappears for days at a time when the neighbours’ cross-German Shepherds are on heat… as they were again of late.)

Stacked beds

The snapshot taken with my phone which I showed in the previous post really got me obsessed about the view back across the garden, with its layers of stacked planting, and I took several more photos with my DSLR. That in turn has got me thinking about upgrading my blog theme to show bigger photographs. But as my current theme is discontinued, I dare not do anything in haste, as I won’t be able to return to the current format. So watch this space… perhaps come Feb there will be a change…

Stacked beds detail

Here meanwhile are a few details. Clicking on the pics of course shows them full size, or you could increase your screen view to around 125% so that the blog fills the full screen width.

Stacked beds reflected

Lastly I want to share a home-grown rose which has featured before, and impressed me. Now it has wowed me. A fresh shoot, grown since it was planted out last summer, has flowered, and the way in which the flowers on it are carried is most unusual. I  might just have a second worthwhile rose of my own breeding here! (‘Cascade’ being the first; you can read more about it in these posts.)

Guest room rose

The flowers are quite large, semi-double, frilly, lightly scented, and of a very pleasing pink with a touch of salmon, and lighter towards the centre.

Guest room rose detail

The last shot shows them with the Watsonias in the adjacent bed beneath the guest room window; I have always thought of them as being salmon-coloured, rather than pink…

Guest room rose with watsonias

 

4 thoughts on “OF BUTTERFLIES,BRIGHTNESS AND A ROSE

  1. Congratulations on your new rose! (the blog before yours, had a lot of large pictures and a lot of small text, CTRL +, CTRL -, irritating to read) Happy to read yours as it is, but that’s just MHO.

  2. I love your new rose! Your layered plantings are spectacular and remind me somewhat of Monet. Thanks so much for the beautiful views; they are a bright spot in my endlessly dreary winter day. As it is still raining, I am cooped up inside with my garden magazines, catalogues, books, and blogs, dreaming of spring.

  3. Pingback: TO CELEBRATE THE SPRING, I NAME A ROSE | Sequoia Gardens

  4. gorgeously deep and textured borders looking even tangier with the reflection. The rose is especially lovely because it retains so much of its wild origins in the petal shapes – a bit like Monty by the sound of it. No wonder the butterflies stop over at Sequoia gardens

Leave a Reply

