WEEKLY PIC: MAY11 WEEK5 – WINTER

WINTER MORNING

The arrival of the first frost signals the end of autumn and the beginning of winter – on Thursday night,  26-27 May, the temperature fell to –1.5 degC. A thorough frost. Yet the days are sunny, in the upper teens. Early winter is one of our most glorious seasons and last night, visiting neighbours, we spent as much time around the braai ( barbeque fire), even after supper, as we did around the fire in the living room. Gloriously clear skies, and someone with a Skywatch app on an iPhone 4: point at the sky and you get the stars and can name them, or see the constellations. Seldom has the miracle of modern technology been so graphically illustrated, with sophisticated adults squealing like children at the miracle of what we were doing. My phone is due for an upgrade – can I reach for the stars…? Smile

8 thoughts on “WEEKLY PIC: MAY11 WEEK5 – WINTER

    • Mostly I prefer books, anyway…. But the miracle is that the phone ‘looks’ at the piece of sky your pointing it at! 😉

    • And I will – as my service provider is one of the biggest I can’t imagine that they don’t offer iphone. I do know I qualify for the top-end blackberry, so iphone shoulds be in…

  1. Reach for the stars and you might catch the moon – so said my Maths teacher by way of encouragement to try harder. Iphones and apps are as alien to me as trigonometry but sounds like good clean adult fun. Am enjoying your weekly pics so much, watching the turning of the season in terra firma’s more beautiful terrains

    • Hi, Laura! Currently I glance out longingly in passing, half-year exams and building operations rather dominating everything.

  2. Jack, I’m fascinated by the different ways that seasons are defined in different climates. Here, the first frost often marks the end of summer and the beginning of fall. Warm days that follow a killing frost are known as “Indian Summer” — but I’m not sure why. How do we mark the beginning of winter? You guessed it — the first serious snowfall.

    • True, Jean. Another is how the flowering of plants overlap or don’t. Moosey, my friend in New Zealand, and I have somewhat similar patterns – except her wisteria starts after mine is finished. And sweetpeas are a late winter flower in South Africa…

Leave a Reply

