POINT, SHOOT, POST OR COMPOSE AND CONSTRUCT?

Highest mountain in Limpopo

The Iron Crown, the highest mountain in Limpopo, seen from the arboritum.

Today was a snapshot day, and a report on my walk will be random. Which set me thinking. Well, pondering rather, in a snapshotty sort of way. I’d love to work thematically, producing well structured blog entries, each on a theme. But right at the moment that aint gonna happen – I  simply don’t have the time. (Which reminds me of my favourite Churchill quote, one I’m always using in class. Some children take years to grasp it: “Please excuse this long letter, but I don’t have the time to write a short one.”)

The focus can go wrong

The problem with the snapshot approach is that you might randomly, instinctively  know what you want, but you don’t get the message across. Case in point:  I thrust the camera up above my head into this red maple to get the first autumn leaves – but it chose to focus on what lay beyond, and so you see some grasses, a leafy camellia, a bit of the big bluegum and the house tilted in the distance. Not quite what was intended, even if of some interest.

Camelia sasanqua

Another example. I came upon the white Sasanqua Camellia already blooming its heart out. It surprises me every year. I aught to blog on the Sasanquas, their early flowering season which puts them ahead of the frost, and give you their varietal names.  But I aint. I will call them the Single White and the Double Pink. And leave out the research.

House from arboritum

But then again, you might wonder why I mention the Double Pink, until you see the blobs on the left of this photo of the house and the big gum tree…

The 1.3 sec dash The real thing

Should I for instance include the dogs, always with me, in regular reports? This is a garden blog, not a lifestyle exposure. But if the dogs were included, even in passing, then I could mention that the slight blur down the steps in the left-hand picture – look carefully – was Mateczka thundering past from nowhere during the 1.3 second exposure. I could barely step sideways to prevent her crashing through underneath the tripod. She was on that frantic run that happens halfway through a walk when she decides we really aren’t covering enough ground, and she adds a km or two in the space of a few minutes. But  if you would really like to see six pics of my largest and smallest dogs at play – a delightful and regular sight –  then visit my post at Mooseys, where our animals are a regular part of our chats… you will find it here, dated 29 March.

What else have I selected from the walk?The first genuinely turned Japanese Maple leaf, hidden away. Two tree ferns at Freddy’s Dam’s overflow, acting geometric. And the spot where I found Cascade Rose. To the left the horizontal grasses show how high and strong  the flow of the water was during late January. The rose would not have survived, had I left it there…

First red maple leaf

Tree ferns at Freddy's Dam's overflow

The Cascade Rose cascade

And did you notice – I didn’t bother to copyright the individual pics…

4 thoughts on “POINT, SHOOT, POST OR COMPOSE AND CONSTRUCT?

  1. was this forgive me ‘slapdash’ approach liberating for you or did you find it difficult. I often spend time taking photos in the garden and while I’m doing it something comes to mind which leads to a blog post.

    • Ah, Helen, look again and you will see this post is as carefully constructed as any I’ve ever written… the control freak will win! 🙂

    • 🙂 A lovely turn of phrase there, Diana, and what can we do about our gardening disasters other than laugh at them!
      My Acer japonicum (as opposed to A. palmatum, the usual ‘Japanese Maple’)of which I am extraordinaraly proud having grown it from imported seed, lives in a pot in the shade outside me dining-room door. It too seems to have passed on in one (hot) week this month. But I remember fearing this to have happened before… our long hot late summers simply make it run out of steam – I hope!

Leave a Reply

