WEEKLY PIC – OCTOBER10 WEEK4

*sigh* Yet another week in which we move relentlessly from Weekly Pic to Weekly Pic. And there is so much else to blog about.  Sometimes I take photos, sometimes I don’t even do that. I promise to try harder ;(

Roses in the green Two things dominate at the moment. This picture captures them both. Firstly, despite the fact that the rains have not come yet – we’ve had misty days but hardly any measurable precipitation for 3 months – mid-October sees the greening of the trees, and anything else that can get greener… And secondly the roses are in bloom! They of course love the hot dry weather, as long as their roots are kept moist. And watering the roses is first priority at the moment. This photo, taken from near the front door, looks across a rose bed and the Ellensgate Garden where the wonderfully scented and prolific ‘Bewitched’ roses bloom. The structure of the wisteria pergola in the Anniversary Garden beyond the wooden surrounds of the Ellensgate Garden reminds us of the yellow and gold roses in bloom there. And on a walk around the gardens today I came upon rose after glorious rose about to waste its sweetness on the desert air… for that is how I feel about this most precious of all times of the year when I can not spend hours a day gardening!

Mme Ernest Calvat

This is Mme Ernest Calvat , a sport from 1888 of the most highly scented of all roses, the deep pink climbing Bourbon Rose Mme Isaac Pereire , which I also grow and have successfully propagated from cuttings. She is even more robust than her parent and to my nose as heavily scented. She grows in the Beech Borders and was one of the first roses to bloom this summer.

12 thoughts on “WEEKLY PIC – OCTOBER10 WEEK4

  1. Jack, Not getting much chance to blog about your garden because you’re spending long hours gardening seems like a reasonable trade-off to me. As the days start to draw in here, I am entranced by the bright fresh colors of your garden in spring. (I actually like winter, but it takes a while to adjust to the shorter days. Yesterday, for the first time this year, I had to walk both to and from work in the dark. Ugh.) Enjoy your lengthening spring days.

    • Thanks, Jean. Being only 50 odd miles south of the Tropic of Capricorn, day length isn’t a huge issue for us. Yet it gets to me. I find day length the single most startling difference when I travel to Europe, especially because it is always counter-seasonal.

Leave a Reply

