JULY 10 WEEK 5

A little early, but calling it ‘week 5’ is a bit of an exaggeration anyway. Besides I want to share with you this first attempt at a macro, taken when I was already late departing for Johannesburg on Friday. It is a Winter Snowflake – Leucojum aestivum – the closest we seem to have to the Snowdrop or Galanthus. They are both misnamed – the Snowflake is definitely more rounded and droppy, whereas the Snowdrop with its separated petals is more flaky. Perhaps I should suggest this change to the powers that be… but then I see in my mind’s eye an army of hoe-wielding galanthophiles, short-stepped and short-sighted, becoming jackophobes and indignantly attacking me. Let it be.

Leucojum aestivum plant

Leave a Reply

