ONE OF THE WORLD’S BIGGEST TREES – THE SAGOLE BAOBAB

biggest baobab in the world

Welcome to one of the world’s three biggest trees… That depends of course on how you measure them. We are looking at girth at chest height here. The biggest by far is the Tule Cypress in Mexico which you can read about here, which has a girth of 54m (164 feet) and is most possibly the biggest biomass on the planet.

Sagole Baobab

But this is one of two baobab trees (Adansonia digitata) in Limpopo, each of which the Ultimate Lover of Trees, Thomas Pakenham, measured at 34 meters (111 feet) on consecutive days. Pakenham, who is Irish, is best known in South Africa for his definitive history, The Boer War.  But about the time my dad was planting the arboretum in 1997, Packenham published the first of what has become a series of magical books on great trees of the world: Meetings with Remarkable Trees. (ISBN 0-297-83255-7) . We presented my father with a copy of the book inscribed:  We celebrate the work of a remarkable man:- few people ever plant an arboretum, fewer still do it in their late sixties.  May your trees still pay tribute to your vision in the 22nd century. Since then we have bought him the books as they were published. Packenham writes of the Sagole  Baobab, as this tree is known, in the only book so far he has devoted to one species – Adansonia, the Baobab. It is called The Remarkable Baobab and was published in 2004 (ISBN 1 86842 201 1)

Rotarians with Isaac Our Rotary Club had a weekend outing to Venda two weeks ago, and visited the tree (at 22°30’ S 30° 38’ E) in the company of one of the great tour guides of the area, Isaac Rambauli.  Our club is campaigning to integrate Rotary’s Preserve Planet Earth program more fully into the ethos of what Rotary is all about – which is why we had a special shirt printed. But more about that in another post! Below we have stopped to look at a veritable forest of baobabs of all ages…

Fields dotted with young baobabs Talking of the age of a baobab – carbon-dating is the only way to test their age, as the fibrous trunk does not have year-rings. In fact there are those who argue that the baobab is not a tree at all but a giant succulent! There are hugely exaggerated claims about their age – the other biggest tree has been claimed in print to be 6000 years old and reliable resources talk of large specimens being 4000 years old. There is no carbon-dating evidence of trees older than between 2000 and 3000 years. Which I guess is a ripe old age anyway. The fibrous nature of their structure seems to result in inexact carbon-dating. I’d love to know the age of the trees below. There is a good chance that 700 years ago they were admired by the inhabitants of nearby Mapungubwe, one of the oldest and most sophisticated cultures  in this part of Africa of which we have detailed records.

Samaria baobabs s I photographed them on Samaria, a wonderful private game reserve, today part of the Mapungubwe National Park, which still belongs to my godmother’s family. I will be spending time there in two weeks and will write more about it thereafter. Here the trees, of the most beautiful specimens to be found anywhere, are in their naked winter splendour. Truly, the Baobab is one of the wonders of Africa!

12 thoughts on “ONE OF THE WORLD’S BIGGEST TREES – THE SAGOLE BAOBAB

  1. Another good read! Thanks! I’ve always been fascinated by these trees. That you cannot count rings or definitively carbon date them is news to me, but not entirely surprising. I envy your group its recent field trip but applaud your efforts. I too have a copy of Meetings With Remarkable Trees but do not have the other books. [Note to Lia: new items here for my wished for gifts list.]

  2. Thanks Mark, and nice to hear from you! The latest book “In search of remarkable trees” is subtitled “On safari in Southern Africa”. Enough said! Except that some of his guides are friends of mine, and I wish I had the time and money to indulge in more arborial tourism…

  3. Wow! Can’t say I envy you getting to go, however do wish I could have seen the baobabs! ‘Course the odds are good I just might slap have disappeared! They have always fascinated me, and by the greatest of luck, I do have the book published in 2004. Will have to see if I can get the others. Sorry not to have been extolling your blog, time is beyond fleet these days…and all I can ask is why? Where??

    • Bonny Brook, you have a new name: Bonny of the Baobab!! Fancy you having that book. I shall have to send you a special baobab pic taken on my coming holiday. And how amazing that both you and Mark should know Pakenham’s books. Now all we need is to distill the essence of time from the baobab to stop the fleeting…

  4. I visited this tree today, and the sight that greeted me simply blew me away! Since I’ll be working in this area regularly in the future I’ll be sure to stop by again when the baobabs (especially this one) are covered in leaves. I have seen pictures of this tree before, but there simply is no way to truly appreciate this tree’s majesty other than actually being there.

    • Alvin – you have hit upon my most populer post ever – I think it comes up in a search everytime a teacher asks her class “What is the biggest tree in the world?” It is magnificent, isn’t it – and so unexpected, so random that it should be so much bigger than any other in the area!

  5. Sequoiagardens – have just become the 23rd subscriber to your site . Now when will you be able to let me stay in The house that Jack built ? Regards

Leave a Reply

