WEEKLY PIC: APRIL10 – WEEK3

Watsonia pillansii & Aloe marlothii

Sigh… a week without internet… a week without the dogs being taken on a walk. A photograph stolen late afternoon just before the sunlight left the Watsonias. And then: a walk for the dogs!

I’ve been admiring the watsonias (this is W. pillansii) all week. They flower erratically; I’m certain it is not a year since the last time. Elsa Pooley, not very helpfully, gives their flowering time as from September to April. So part-reason for choosing this week’s pic is to document their flowering 😉 All the same – I do think I recall them flowering as the first shy aloe flowering stems peek out from among the leaves. I counted two this morning. This bed in a year of late severe cold is spectacular. Mostly they get frosted as they start to colour. But one tries.

6 thoughts on “WEEKLY PIC: APRIL10 – WEEK3

    • Rather a late answer, than none at all, I hope, Diana! In fact it was a reflection of the window to the right, which still caught the sun. By the time I’d fetched my camera, the sun was slipping off the watsonias!

  1. Is it only me? Since moving to California I’ve been known to confuse Watsonias with Chasmanthe. Since I haven’t grown either in my garden, I don’t have the intimate knowledge of these plants.
    They both grow like weeds in my region. Lots of foliage but not always lots of blooms.
    Cheers, Jack!

    • Hello Alice! Pardon my long silence! I tend to associate chasmanthe more with crocosmias – the orange flowers I recently posted on. I grew chasmanthe for the first time this past spring. It is from the Cape winter rainfall area. There in a friend’s garden it is as much of a self-sower (shan’t call them weeds!) as crocosmia is for me. I think of watsonias as altogether fleshier plants: thicker, juicier leaves, stouter stems and bigger, more solid flowers. They tend to look rather similar, but there are several species in many colours, and they grow in both the winter and summer rainfall areas. This one is endemic to our area I believe, although I’ve never seen it growing wild myself.

  2. Finally got around to checking out your blog – its great! Looking forward to seeing some of your autumn colors on screen as our dogwoods & liquidambers are well on their way, so yours should be too. Our phymaspermum is in full bloom, you should pop in to enjoy the cheerful yellow.

    • Hello Laurie, and welcome! I’m pleased you’ve popped by. I had the Letaba Garden Club here yesterday. I thought the garden looked damp, lank and wan. They loved it. I can’t get the autumn feeling yet, with the summer rain just not stopping! But if it lifts tomorrow, I will come over!

Leave a Reply

