WEEKLY PIC: NOVEMBER WEEK 3

Cottage Garden

Two days of misty weather, but little rain. Three weeks of trying to catch up with the real world – so my post on my blowsy roses gathers material but also dust. It is time for the weekly pic, so I stick my nose out the front door – literally – at 5.45am to take this shot. It is actually a pretty good subject, not as much of a compromise as it sounds. It shows the good and the bad of my gardening. Let’s start with the bad: too many ‘sticky’ textures, not enough big leaves or sculptural shapes, but it shows much clearer within the frame of a camera than on site; and a tendency to dotty planting rather than dramatic use of a few plants.

 

However it shows some of my favourite plants, and an admirable ‘white garden’ quality, although the Cottage Garden is better described as a garden where white  dominates. In the foreground are the bells on grassy wands of one of my all-time favourite plants: the white Angels’ Rods or Diarama; self-sown white Nicotiana elata abound; in the background Rosa ‘Penelope’, a wonderful repeat-flowering Hybrid Musk that strikes easily from cuttings, and standing out against the dark background, the flowers of Hydrangea serrata are beginning to show colour. One of the stone paths cuts through the composition. The Cottage Garden, small in scale, muddled in execution (by accident rather than design, but appropriate to its name!), is one of my more successful creations.

3 thoughts on “WEEKLY PIC: NOVEMBER WEEK 3

  1. Hi Jack! Dotty planting – I like this term. I have a lot of it in my garden. On this picture, many different plants create a cacophony which is natural for a cottage garden. I am surprised you were able to take a picture at 5:45 a.m. It is 5:40a.m. here, and it’s pitch black!

  2. Pingback: FLOWERS BROUGHT IN FROM THE WILD ON THE FARM « Sequoia Gardens Blog

Leave a Reply

