WEEKLY PIC: NOVEMBER WEEK 1

rose and frog

Besides being rose season, this is also frog season; living as close to the water as I do, the first thing anyone who phones at night says is “Just listen to those frogs!” The choir – from basso profundo to sopranino – can be quite overwhelming as they call the rain, which usually obligingly arrives within three days, no matter how unlikely it seems when the chorus starts. Then, when it comes, they chirrup their appreciation all day, odd sounds coming stereophonically from all around. Now when I sighted my favourite frog in one of my favourite roses, I knew I had found the subject for this week’s pic. Ladies and gentleman, I present: the Painted Reed Frog (Hyperolius marmoratus taeniatus  – I have that on pretty good authority) and the wonderful old Hybrid Musk rose ‘Penelope’! 

7 thoughts on “WEEKLY PIC: NOVEMBER WEEK 1

Leave a Reply

