The Rosemary borders part 1 – repost of ‘A walk around my garden Part 3’

A week has passed since my rather pathetic post on the Rosemary Borders. Amongst other problems the connection was so slow that the photographs were quite fuzzy. It has been a hectic week, starting off with a wonderful but exhausting 3 day hike in the mountains, three days on site in a garden I’m currently working on and including the annual visit to our Rotary Club of the District Governor. As I’m the current president it was very much my responsibility. I’m pleased to report it was a huge success. Reasons enough I guess to explain why I’ve taken a week to fix the mess and to post something new! So here goes; first a complete re-post of the existing info, then I’ll delete last week’s post, then I’ll add something new… that’s the plan, anyway!

=oOo=

I’m getting a little tired of my pic-with-caption blogs. Time for something more substantial. I need to spend time in the garden, camera in hand, to share the first signs of new life with you, but daylight hours are otherwise engaged at the moment… work, and Friday through Sunday: hiking in the mountains!

But I’ve also been wanting to continue the walk through my garden, so here it is: part three, or ‘The Rosemary Borders’. I will write linking bits, and quote from old Moosey diaries in italics.  The result will (hopefully) be a clever compression of what happened during the last three years, a bit like some of the 60s-70s-80s experimental literature playing with time-in-the-novel. Here’s hoping!

Building the wall and planning the Rosemary Borders, mid 2006. To the left of Alfred's Arches lies the Anniversary Garden, about which I shall still write!

Building the wall and planning the Rosemary Borders, mid 2006. To the left of Alfred’s Arches lies the Anniversary Garden, about which I shall still write!

23 July 2006

Let’s use the next pic to pick up on the Walk around my Garden. A quick  reminder: top centre is the living room gable, and that window looks out over the Ellensgate garden. On the axis from the front door lies Alfred’s Arches, with the Anniversary Garden to the left, then down some steps and to our right lies the Rosemary Terrace. There you can see the new wall. At the bottom of the big lawn on the very right of the pic a staircase is still being built and beyond it the wall continues. The bed above the wall is 35m long up to the steps and 5m deep. It has developed over the years as a rather short season display area for self-seeders and easily divided plants: foxgloves (to stay) and yellow coreopsis and rudbeckias (to go elsewhere).

 

 

Here follows my plans for the garden from 3 years ago. It is going to be interesting to see how the results differ…

My plans here? The soil is sandy so drainage will be good. It slopes north-west and will be warm to hot. I want to plant it for year round interest (so not too many herbaceous perennials!), with plants that must be low enough not to spoil the view of the dam (OK, pond!) I want an overall colour focus on muddy pinks, purples and mustards – think day lilies – but with a variety of other colours as well. Yellows and pinks must not be too bright. Shapes must be hummocky, with occasional vertical accents, and varied leaf colour and texture. At regular intervals just above the wall I want tight balls of rosemary.

 

On the far side near Alfred's Arches the bed was already densely planted. For the rest only a few plants were retained during the makeover.

 

 

Straightening out the upper edge which had undulated haphazardly before. In the foreground five 'Ballerina' roses which had formed a perfect clump but not been pruned for three years await attention.

 

Before we go any further – which of these objectives have I achieved to date? Winter shape and colour has been good, if rather subdued and, well… wintery. Colours have worked, except for the coreopsis and rudbeckias which returned with a vengeance and added way too much bright yellow. My mom loves their pluck, and so they stayed. Shapes are ok to good, textures awful. Everything is twiggy, small leaved and upright. As a result photographs tend to be fuzzy. (Not fuzzy like my original post – fuzzy as in too much fine stuff which results in leaves one doesn’t FOCUS on…) After three years several shrubs need rejuvenation.  And as for the daylilies… well they’re there for a day. What a disappointment they’ve been. Oh. And the balls of rosemary: rosemary never grows into balls – it gets pruned into them. As a kind school report would say: ‘there is room for improvement’…

And here is the garden 18 months later... across the dam Doubly is swimming and wondering what I'm up to. Along the bank are some of the many tree ferns that have self-sown over the last few years.

And here is the garden 18 months later… across the dam Doubly is swimming and wondering what I’m up to. Along the bank are some of the many tree ferns that have self-sown over the last few years.


2 thoughts on “The Rosemary borders part 1 – repost of ‘A walk around my garden Part 3’

  1. To Charlotte (thegallopinggardener.blogspot.com/) who has an amazing blog and to Nancy (http://happymoo.wordpress.com/) who between cows, raspberries and fish has me totally confused… thank you for your appreciative comments on the post I’m about to delete – hope you like this one more than the original!

  2. Pingback: THE ROSEMARY BORDERS 2: A FORMAL VISTA « Sequoia Gardens Blog

Leave a Reply

