Hamamelis (Witch Hazel)

Witch Hazel is a  scented, winter-flowering shrub with strangely attractive ribbony flowers in yellow and sometimes orange. Mine I grew from imported seed - they are the only ones I know of in South Africa. The best examples are named cultivars, but I'm pretty happy with my seed-grown shrubs! They have large rounded leaves which colour a good yellow in autumn. In total I have about  12 examples; some were accidentaly planted with  some seed-grown lime trees (Tilia) in a hedge. their leaves are very similar. t took two years before I realised some of my limes were producing ribbony winter flowers! I've kept the combo - it appeals to my sense of mixing the formal and informal, the controlled and the spontaneous, and so far they have kept pace with the limes - which will be trimmed into a hedge anyway.

Witch Hazel is a scented, winter-flowering shrub with strangely attractive ribbony flowers in yellow and sometimes orange. Mine I grew from imported seed - they are the only ones I know of in South Africa. The best examples are named cultivars, but I'm pretty happy with my seed-grown shrubs! They have large rounded leaves which colour a good yellow in autumn. In total I have about 12 examples; some were accidentaly planted with some seed-grown lime trees (Tilia) in a hedge. Their leaves are very similar. It took two years before I realised some of my limes were producing ribbony winter flowers! I've kept the combo - it appeals to my sense of mixing the formal and informal, the controlled and the spontaneous, and so far they have kept pace with the limes - which will be trimmed into a hedge anyway.

One thought on “Hamamelis (Witch Hazel)

Leave a Reply

