Weekly pic: August week 1

Late winter is rose pruning time. With over 30 roses, and a climate too damp to really be rose country, it is quite a job, and one that this year I am trying to do myself as much as possible. There are many roses being given a year of TLC - and if they don't perform, they get dumped. Ruthless efficiency is my motto for the coming garden year; we'll see if it goes the way of all new year's resolutions... This photo was taken in the Anniversary Garden: golden roses and mauve wisteria setting the scene. It was my gift to my parents for their Golden Wedding Anniversary.

Late winter is rose pruning time. With over 300 roses, and a climate too damp to really be rose country, it is quite a job, and one that this year I am trying to do myself as much as possible. There are many roses being given a year of TLC - and if they don't perform, they get dumped. Ruthless efficiency is my motto for the coming gardening year; we'll see if it goes the way of all new year's resolutions... This photo was taken in the Anniversary Garden: golden roses and mauve wisteria set the scene. It was my gift to my parents for their Golden Wedding Anniversary.

5 thoughts on “Weekly pic: August week 1

  1. Ruthless efficiency… I lack it very often when gardening. Maybe, with 300 roses, it should be a must. I like all the geometric lines on the picture: a border, a hedge, a line of the trees behind,etc.

  2. Hallo Tatyana, how nice of you to stop by! You are in fact my first guest who is a total stranger, my friends having provided support so far. It is great to meet you, and your gorgeous pictures of pink and purple flowers… I shall be exploring your blog further. As I write about my garden I will explain the design of the Anniversary Garden (and other areas) further, so please pop by and watch developments! Unfortunately time is limited, so it will take a while to get to everything…

  3. This is what Blotanical is about. Your posts appear on the list, and anyone from almost 1500 gardeners-blotanists can stop by. I’m glad I was first! Thank you for the expression “ruthless efficiency”, I just love it! You see, I learned something new from you! Thanks!

  4. Thanks for popping in, autumnbelle! I shall now try to visit your blog as well, although this morning my rural African connection is so poor that the only way to use the internet is to be doing something else as well, and be endlessly patient with failed connections. But I WILL get to you!

Leave a Reply

